Jazz Impressions of A BOY NAMED CHARLIE BROWN Orange Vinyl Soundtrack

Best Price Listed
Please Check Price

Fantasy Records (via Concord Music Group) orange vinyl pressing of Vince Guaraldi’s score to A Boy Named Charlie Brown – a 1964 TV documentary about Peanuts creator Charles M. Schulz that never actually aired.

Release Date: May 13, 2014.

This is a limited edition 50th Anniversary issue of the soundtrack featuring a fully remastered score (24-bit remastering) by engineer Joe Tarantino.

It comes packaged with a gatefold jacket, liner notes, as well as 8 x 10 lithographs of Peanuts characters.

The documentary that never aired was a 60 minute TV special that the networks thought they wouldn’t be able to sell. The year after it was made A Charlie Brown Christmas aired instead, which became the first time pianist Vince Guaraldi’s score was actually heard. Ironically, they thought the score could sell and so despite never airing the documentary Guaraldi’s music, augmented by bassist Monty Budwig and drummer Colin Bailey, still managed to find its way to a vinyl release courtesy of Fantasy Records.

Now, after 50 years, we finally have a high quality repressing of the initial release thanks to Concord Music Group.

Track list:

A1 Oh, Good Grief 2:21
A2 Pebble Beach 2:47
A3 Happiness Is 3:37
A4 Schroeder 1:51
A5 Charlie Brown Theme 4:20
B1 Linus And Lucy 3:03
B2 Blue Charlie Brown 7:26
B3 Baseball Theme 3:13
B4 Freda (With The Naturally Curly Hair) 4:31

Have a listen to a the track “Charlie Brown Theme” (this isn’t from the newly remastered version, to be clear):

Note: You may also find secondhand copies of the initial pressing occasionally for sale on Ebay.