Skip to content

FORBIDDEN WORLD 180 Gram Clear Vinyl Soundtrack (Death Waltz)

Death Waltz Recording Company vinyl release of Susan Justin’s music to director Allan Holzman’s 1982 film horror sci-fi film¬†Forbidden World.

Pressed on 180 gram clear vinyl housed in a gatefold heavyweight tip-on casebound sleeve.

Release date: March 4, 2014.

The music to Forbidden World is one of the great unheralded electronic scores of its generation. Produced by the legendary Roger Corman, the album mixes the electronic influences of the time with splashes of new wave, creating a score that fuses the eerie tonalities and avant-garde sensibility of Alien with the straight-up funk of Assault On Precinct 13. Birthed from this is a cult classic score that deserves to be held up alongside the works of Richard Band and Alan Howarth.

What immediately stands out from the score is the amazing main theme, a melodic groove firmly embedded in the 80s synth movement, complete with creepy vocal effects overlaying its driving keyboard line. Originally a parody that Corman turned into a straight horror, the score is used typically to create tension with isolated piano and harsh electronic tones, acting as a stereotypical precursor to the horror moments. Amidst all this is also the ‘Blaster Beam’, a unique instrument famous for its use in Jerry Goldsmith’s Star Trek – The Motion Picture. A fantastic voyage amongst the stars full of offbeat melodies and alien tones, this is a musical world that demands multiple visits.

Features exclusive artwork by Kimberley Holladay containing a poster and booklet featuring exclusive liner notes from composer Susan Justin & director Allan Holzman.

Track listing:

A1 Theme From Forbidden World 2:42
A2 Titles 2:47
A3 Birth And Death 1:29
A4 Mourning 1:31
A5 Alone 3:34
A6 Steam Room 1:27
A7 Mutation 2:32
B1 Xarbia 2:38
B2 The Hole 2:53
B3 The Doctor Returns 1:33
B4 Laser Shower 1:19
B5 Communication 1:48
B6 The End 4:05
B7 End Title Theme From ‘Forbidden World’ 2:17

Listen to the main theme:

This vinyl soundtrack can be found on Ebay at the link below:

FORBIDDEN WORLD 180 Gram Clear Vinyl Soundtrack (Death Waltz)