BEYOND THE BLACK RAINBOW Clear Vinyl Soundtrack by Sinoia Caves (Jagjaguwar)

Limited Edition
Please Check Price

Jagjaguwar limited edition clear vinyl release of Sinoia Caves’ original music to director Panos Cosmatos’ 2010 sci-fi thriller Beyond the Black Rainbow.

Release Date: September 2, 2014.


  • Limited edition
  • Pressed on clear wax
  • Digital download code for the album (as a .zip file containing 320kbps mp3s), redeemable two weeks before release date on August 19, 2014

Posited as a “lost film” of the 1980s, the film is inspired by classic dystopian fiction and the obscure SF movies you used to see on the shelves of the local video store when you were a kid. As such, the brilliant soundtrack by Sinoia Caves – aka composer Jeremy Schmidt – blends seamlessly amongst its influences of Tangerine Dream, Wendy Carlos, and of course John Carpenter, with the latter’s mark heard on the oppressive synth percussion of the main titles and the catchy melodies heard throughout.

Schmidt’s score is many things – haunting, uncompromising, intense – but is always a fascinating listen. While the seemingly retro-modernist sound is almost its own genre now, the music doesn’t come across as an imitation, and instead stands on its own as a genuinely original work. Using familiar elements such as the mellotron and the processed vocal samples, Schmidt puts it in that 70s-80s aesthetic and then builds a beautiful and terrifying score with those tools. Simply put, BEYOND THE BLACK RAINBOW is an astounding piece of work and must not be missed. Do you read me?”

Track Listing:

Side A

  1. Forever Dilating Eye
  2. Elena’s Sound-World
  3. Run Program: Sentionauts
  4. Arboria Tapes- Award Winning Gardens
  5. 1983- Main Titles

Side B

  1. 1966 – Let The New Age Of Enlightenment Begin
  2. Sentionauts II

Listen to a sample:

Watch the trailer: