Skip to content


The Perks of Being a Wallflower vinyl soundtrack features songs from various artists.

The film is based on Stephen Chbosky’s bestselling novel that follows the highs and lows of a group of young friends growing up (played by Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller). Chbosky chose the musical tracks after having collected songs for many years.

In the album liner he writes:

“Over many years, I have collected songs. I’ve shared them with friends. And they have shared their favorites with me. Some of the songs are popular. Some of them are not known by a whole lot of people. But they are all great in their own way. And since these songs have meant a lot to me, I just wanted you have them as a soundtrack for whatever you need them to be for your life.”

The songs included comes from various rock and alternative rock artists including The Samples, Dexys Midnight Runners, Galaxie 500, New Order, The Innocence Mission, The Smiths, Cracker, Sonic Youth, XTC, Cocteau Twins, Michael Brook and David Bowie.

Features of the vinyl release:

  • Label: Atlantic, Chop Shop Records, Summit Entertainment
  • Released in 2012 in the US (standard vinyl release)
  • Released in 2013 in the US (limited edition, green transparent colored vinyl)
  • 12 tracks from the movies included

Track list:

  1. A1 The Samples – Could It Be Another Change
  2. A2 Dexys Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen
  3. A3 Galaxie 500 – Tugboat
  4. A4 New Order – Temptation
  5. A5 The Innocence Mission – Evensong
  6. A6 The Smiths – Asleep
  7. B1 Cracker – Low
  8. B2 Sonic Youth – Teenage Riot
  9. B3 XTC – Dear God
  10. B4 Cocteau Twins – Pearly-Dewdrops’ Drops
  11. B5 Michael Brook – Pouter
  12. B6 David Bowie – Heroes

Though rare and hard to find, it is possible to find copies of both vinyl releases from time to time on Ebay via the link below: