Skip to content

ROOM 237 180 Gram 45RPM Colored Vinyl Soundtrack

PricDeath Waltz Recordings audiophile quality release of Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson’s original score to the 2012 documentary Room 237.

Release date: October 30, 2013.

Note: This is a vinyl release containing 7 instrumental tracks that also comes with a 14 track CD of the complete original score by Jonathan Snipes & William Hutson.


  • 180 gram orange and red vinyl
  • Cut at 45rpm
  • Housed inside a heavyweight casebound tip on sleeve
  • Cover art by Sam Smith

Death Waltz referred to this score as one of the finest modern scores they have heard in a very long time, calling it a “monstrous, huge sounding record that references John Carpenter, Goblin, Stevlio Cipriani, late 70s prog and early 80s electronic music all the while with its feet firmly in the present day.”

Room 237 is a documentary that explores interpretations of Stanley Kubrick’s 1980 horror film The Shining.



  1. To Keep From Falling Off
  2. Multiple Of Seven
  3. Ignorance Of Visual Information
  4. Recourse To Eagles


  1. Moon Landing
  2. Emotional Architecture
  3. Dies Arie

Room 237 180gram vinyl soundtrack

From composer Jonathon Snipes:

Kubrick’s film was scored in large part with pre existing classical recordings, but the score for Room 237 has taken as its inspiration the elegant but quirky film music that accompanied low budget horror movies in the 1970s. Composers Jonathan Snipes and William Hutson utilize a combination of vintage and contemporary analogue synthesizers, as well as acoustic instruments to create an atmosphere that is at once both haunting and funky.

Watch a featurette on the score:

Listen to track Dies Arie:


  • Jonathan Snipes – Synthesizers, Pianos, Vocoder, Percussion
  • William Hutson – Synthesizers, Percussion
  • David Rothbaum – Guitars & Bass
  • Nick Murray – Drums
  • Maryclare Brzytwa – Flute
  • Bear McCreary – Clavinet
  • Cristina Bercovitz – Vocal Effects

This item is also available on Ebay at the link below:

ROOM 237 180 Gram 45RPM Colored Vinyl Soundtrack