BLOW-UP 180 Gram Vinyl Soundtrack Reissue (2014)

Check pricing

Music on Vinyl 180 gram reissue of Herbie Hancock’s 1966 score to director Michelangelo Antonioni’s mystery-thriller Blow-Up.

Release Date: March 17, 2014.

Catalogue number: MOVLP986.

Original score: 1966.

Musically the songs evoke the ambience of swinging Sixties’ London with grooves that create effective bluesy Jazz moods on the slow pieces, and funky ones on the up-tempo tracks.

The album features performances by Hancock on keys, Freddie Hubbard and Joe Newman on trumpet, Phil Woods and Joe Henderson on sax, Ron Carter on bass and Jack DeJohnette on drums. Rumours go that either the fabled Jimmy Smith or Paul Griffin played the Hammond organ on this record.

Rock fans remember the film and the soundtrack for the inclusion of a rare Yardbirds number, “Stroll On” (actually, a Hard Rock adaptation of Tiny Bradshaw’s Jump Blues “The Train Kept A-Rollin'” from 1951), one of only three songs they recorded with both Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page on guitars. The bassline to “Bring Down The Birds” was sampled by Deee-Lite for their 1990 hit single “Groove Is In The Heart” featuring Bootsy Collins.

The score was also released on 180 gram vinyl by 4 Men With Beards in 2003.

Track listing:


  1. Main Title – ‘Blow Up’
  2. Verushka Part I
  3. Verushka Part II
  4. The Naked Camera
  5. Bring Down The Birds
  6. Jane’s Theme


  1. Stroll On
  2. The Thief
  3. The Kiss
  4. Curiosity
  5. Thomas Studies Photos
  6. The Bed
  7. End Title – ‘Blow Up’

This item is available on Ebay at the link below:

BLOW-UP 180 Gram Vinyl Soundtrack Reissue (2014)

Home » 180 Gram » BLOW-UP 180 Gram Vinyl Soundtrack Reissue (2014)